Over the quarter of a century of football that’s been played at the AFF Championship we’ve seen some outstanding teams, both those that won titles and those that fell just short.

Four nations – Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam and Malaysia  - have lifted the trophy whilst Indonesia have finished as runners-up on no fewer than six occasions.

Comparing teams from different eras is never an easy task but there’s no better judge of quality than the fans who have seen some of these generation-defining sides up close and personal and now it’s up to you to decide just which is the greatest team in the history of the AFF Championship.

Over the next couple of days, we have eight teams that will be put up for a vote with the top four then progressing through to the final stage of voting next week.

Make sure to have your say and help to determine just which is the greatest ever AFF Championships team.


Thailand (2000)

Having won the inaugural edition in 1996, Thailand then backed that up four years later in a dominant showing in the home tournament in 2000 when they won their second title.

They were imperious in the group stage, scoring nine goals as they won all three matches before seeing off Malaysia 2-0 in the semi-finals, with Kiatisuk Senamuang on the scoresheet in each game.

One of the more dominant finals performances then followed as they cruised to 4-1 win over Indonesia at Rajamangala Stadium to deservedly lift the title following a first-half hat-trick from Worrawoot Srimaka and a second-half Tanongsak Prajakkata goal. 

A star-studded side that featured co-Golden Boot winner Worrawoot and MVP recipient Kiatisuk this was one of the finest Thai sides seen at the tournament, but was it the War Elephants' greatest team?

Indonesia (2010)

Indonesian fans must think they are under some kind of a curse as they’ve made the final more times than any nation outside of Thailand yet are still to taste victory in six previous outings.

That’s not for a lack of quality though and the 2010 team was a clear standout as they waltzed through the group stage, winning all three matches, including a comprehensive 5-1 victory against eventual champions Malaysia.

A 2-0 win over the Philippines in the semi-finals in which Cristian Gonzales scored home and away set up a return clash against Malaysia in the final where three goals in 11 minutes in the first leg from the Harimau Malaya left them with a mountain to climb in the second leg.

The 2-1 second-leg victory at Gelora Bung Karno Stadium wasn’t quite enough as Indonesia lost the final at a tournament in which they dazzled, with that dominance being recognised as Firman Utina won the MVP award.

Singapore (2012)

The early years of the AFF Championship were dominated by Singapore with the side winning a then-record fourth title back in 2012 in a side boasting some of the country's greatest players of all time. 

Unfortunately for the Lions that was also the last time that they lifted the trophy with the 2012 generation still living fondly in the hearts and minds of supporters.

Wins over Malaysia and Laos in the group stage set up a semi-final meeting with the Philippines where Khairul Amri's goal was the difference in a 1-0 aggregate win before they then edged Thailand 3-2 on aggregate in the final with Fahrudin Mustafiq, Amri and Baihakki Khaizan all on the scoresheet in the 3-1 first-leg victory at Jalan Besar Stadium. 

Featuring the class of Amri and Shahril Ishak (who won the MVP award) the side was also built on a solid defence that conceded just two goals in their four knockout stage matches in what was the final major title won by coach Raddy Avramovic.

Vietnam (2018)

Vietnam’s Golden Generation lived up to their hefty reputations as they sealed a second AFF Championship title with a win on home soil in 2018 under the guidance of Korean tactician Park Hang-seo. 

Undefeated in four group stage matches where there didn’t concede a single goal, they then eased past the Philippines 4-2 on aggregate in the semi-finals before a 3-2 aggregate win over Malaysia in the final that sparked an all-night celebration in Hanoi.

Built on the defensive ethos that has become a tenet of the reign of coach Park Hang-seo the team also had plenty of class going forward with this being a breakout tournament for a player who is now the pin-up boy of Southeast Asian football in Nguyen Quang Hai.

The gifted playmaker and dead-ball specialist, who set up Nguyen Anh Duc for the winning goal in the final, won the MVP award whilst three of his teammates – goalkeeper Dang Van Lam and defenders Doan Van Hau and Tran Dinh Trong – were also named in the tournament's Best XI.

Poll will end on Friday, December 9 at 13:00 SGT