The AFF Championship has enjoyed many classic encounters in it's glorious history since the first edition kicked off in 1996. 

Rewind back through the years and enjoy six of the best matches in Southeast Asian history and vote for your favourite in our poll at the end.  

Honourable Mentions:
Indonesia 3-3 Thailand (1998), Indonesia 2-2 Thailand (2002), Indonesia 4-1 Malaysia (2005), Malaysia 3-2 Cambodia (2016).

1. Vietnam 2 Indonesia 3 (November 16, 2000, Bangkok)


Back when the semi-finals were played over just one leg, Vietnam and Indonesia put on a classic in 2000, with last-minute goals scored at the end of normal time and extra time in a game that will live long in the memory.
With the scores tied at 1-1 and 15 minutes to play Matheus Nurdiantara gave Indonesia the lead, but Vu Cong Tuyen took the game to extra time with a last-minute equaliser. Then, as the clock ticked down, Gendut Doni Christiawan rifled home from six yards to seal the Garuda’s place in the final.

2. Vietnam 1 Thailand 1 (December 28, 2008, Hanoi)


By the time the seventh edition of the tournament rolled round, only Thailand and Singapore had been crowned champions, but Vietnam would join the regional powerhouses as Henrique Calisto’s team, who won the first leg of the final 2-1 in Bangkok, denied Thailand a fourth title.
Things were not going to plan in the second leg as Teerasil Dangda gave the War Elephants the lead just after 20 minutes. A second would have put Thailand in the driving seat but Vietnam held out before Le Cong Vinh sent the stadium into raptures deep into added time to wrap up the title. 

3. Vietnam 0 Philippines 2 (December 5, 2010, Hanoi)


Same venue, different outcome. Vietnam went into the 2010 competition as both holders and co-hosts, but they were dealt a huge shock by a Philippines side that were suddenly starting to challenge Southeast Asia’s elite, and ‘The Miracle of Hanoi’ confirmed that.
Vietnam had romped to a 7-1 win over Myanmar in their tournament opener but fell behind to Chris Greatwich’s first-half header, before Phil Younghusband scored his first ever Suzuki Cup goal 11 minutes from time to claim a memorable victory.

4. Singapore 3 Thailand 1 (December 19, 2012, Singapore)

Chasing their fourth title, Singapore were up against the only other team who had thrice lifted the Suzuki Cup in the 2012 final and the Lions produced a superb display to see off Thailand in the first leg at Singapore’s Jalan Besar Stadium.
Fahrudin Mustafic opened the scoring from the spot early on but Adul Lahsoh levelled midway through the second half. Khairul Amri restored the hosts’ lead with 18 minutes to play before Baihakki Khaizan sealed a 3-1 in added time as Singapore went on to be crowned champions.

5. Malaysia 3 Thailand 2 (December 20, 2014, Kuala Lumpur)

Thailand had not won the Suzuki Cup since 2002, but a 2-0 home win over Malaysia in the first leg of the 2014 final looked to have put them on their way to a third title. However, a Safiq Rahim brace and a goal from Indra Putra saw the Thais 3-0 down before the hour in the second leg.
With Malaysia 10 minutes from lifting their second regional championship, Kiatisuk Senamuang’s side turned the game on its head. Charyl Chappuis stunned the crowd in the 82nd minute and Chanathip Songkrasin curled home a wonderful second three minutes from time to wrap up a 4-3 aggregate win.

6. Vietnam 2 Indonesia 2 (December 7, 2016, Hanoi)

Trailing 2-1 from the first leg of the 2016 semi-final, Vietnam needed to defeat Indonesia in the return meeting in Hanoi to have any chance of advancing to their third final, but fell behind to Stefano Lilipaly’s goal early in the second half before drama ensued.
Vietnam goalkeeper Nguyen Tran Manh was dismissed and defender Que Ngoc Hai was forced to go in goal, but Vu Vanh Thanh levelled with seven minutes to play and, unbelievably, Vu Minh Tuan forced extra time with a 93rd-minute strike. The hosts’ luck ran out, though, as Manahati Lestusen made it 2-2 from the spot in the 97th minute as Indonesia progressed.