Since the tournament began way back in 1996, there have been a number of sides that can lay claim to being the greatest to grace the AFF Championship. 

Whilst it’s often easier to remember recent displays and view the past through a different lens, the debate is never an easy one and that’s why we’ve asked fans of the AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 to look back and help determine just which team is the greatest of all time.

Today we have four more teams up for nomination and they span a full decade, from the Singapore champions of 2004 through to a dominant Thailand side in 2014.

Make sure to vote and help decide just which team is the greatest of all time at the AFF Championships.




The ding-dong battle between Thailand and Singapore in the early years of the AFF Championship was one of the great Southeast Asian football rivalries and, after Thailand had won three of the first four editions, the Lions roared back as a regional powerhouse by claiming their second title in 2004.

Having gone undefeated in the group stage they edged past Myanmar in the semi-finals, with a 20-year-old Shahril Ishak among the scorers in a 4-3 first-leg win in Kuala Lumpur before a hat-trick from Noh Alam Shah and a match-winning goal from Agu Casmir saw Singapore advance after extra-time following a 4-2 victory in Kallang.

But they saved their best for last, with Daniel Bennett, a 19-year-old Khairul Amri and Casmir all on the scoresheet in a 3-1 win over Indonesia in the first leg of the final before Indra Sahdan and Casmir netted as the 2-1 second-leg victory in Kallang sealed title number two after a 5-2 aggregate win.

It was a star-studded side that featured MVP winner Lionel Lewis, striker Alam Shah, Bennett, Casmir and the emerging talents of Shahril and Amri, but was it the finest ever seen at the AFF Championship?

VIETNAM (2008)

Vietnam became the first nation to break the dominance of Thailand and Singapore as they tasted success on home soil back in 2008 having previously finished as runners-up a decade earlier. 

Having lost their opening group stage match against Thailand, Alfred Riedl's team would not trip up again as they beat Malaysia and Laos to reach the semi-finals, with Nguyen Vu Phong's brace in a 3-2 win against the Malaysians key to their progression. 

Looking for a third successive title, Singapore were next to fall as Nguyen Quang Hai stunned National Stadium by scoring the only goal of the second leg to seal a 1-0 aggregate win and eliminate the holders.

A 2-1 win in Thailand in the first leg of the final after goals from Vu Phong and Le Cong Vinh set up a tense second leg that they drew 1-1 in Hanoi as Cong Vinh wrote himself in the history books by heading home a dramatic 94th-minute goal that sealed the 3-2 aggregate victory and sparked massive street celebrations right across the nation.


Following on from Vietnam’s breakthrough win two years earlier, Malaysia then became the fourth nation to taste regional success as they won the 2010 title despite getting off to the worst possible start when they lost 5-1 to Indonesia. However, they recovered impressively to draw with Thailand and ease past Laos to reach the semi-finals for the sixth time in eight editions. 

Next up came the defending champions Vietnam and Safee Sali's double in the first leg in Kuala Lumpur proved decisive as the scoreless draw in the return meeting in Hanoi secured a 2-0 aggregate win.

Back in the final for the first time since the inaugural edition in 1996, the Harimau Malaya had the chance to avenge their opening-day loss to Indonesia and it was one they didn't pass up. Safee's brace and another goal from Ashari Samsudin sealed a 3-0 first-leg win at Bukit Jalil Stadium. 

And with Indonesia chasing the game in the return meeting at Gelora Bung Karno Stadium, Safee raced through to hammer home the opening goal early in the second half. The Garuda won the game 2-1 but Malaysia ran out 4-2 aggregate winners to create history by claiming their first and, to date, only AFF Championship title.


Having been such a powerhouse of the regional game in the early years of the AFF Championship, Thailand finally ended a 12-year drought as they won the 2014 edition in impressive fashion to lift title number four. 

In what was a breakout tournament for eventual MVP Chanathip Songkrasin, the Thais were imperious in the group stage, winning all three matches with late goals from Charyl Chappuis and Adisak Kraisorn sealing wins over defending champions Singapore and Malaysia. 

The Philippines were next to fall when, after a goalless first leg of the semi-final in Manila, Chanathip opened the scoring early on in Bangkok and Kroekrit Thaweekarn added a second-half brace to secure a 3-0 aggregate victory. Chappuis and Kroekrit helped Thailand claim a 2-0 win over Malaysia in the first leg of the final at Rajamangala Stadium but, three down in the return meeting, Chanathip stepped up. 

With the game into its final 10 minutes, his free-kick was only parried out, allowing Chappuis to tap home before a stunning late left-footed strike silenced the home support at Bukit Jalil Stadium as Thailand won the title to spark their second era of dominance in the AFF Championships.

Poll will end on Friday, December 9 at 13:00 SGT