As the AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup 2022 Trophy Tour gets set to begin its journey in Bangkok on September 24 in the build-up to the competition in December and January, we look back at some of the greatest individual moments Thailand's players have produced through the years.

The War Elephants have lit up the competition in its 26-year history, winning a record six titles between 1996 and 2020, as a number of national icons have inspired their country to glory with performances that will live long in the memory.

Below are five game-changing displays from Thai players and we’re asking you, the fans, to vote for your favourite to be in with a chance of winning one of five signed Thailand jerseys

To enter the competition, make sure to create an account after placing your vote.

Zico wins maiden title

One of the greatest players to ever represent Thailand, Kiatisuk ‘Zico’ Senamuang was the star of the show when the tournament debuted in 1996, scoring in five of the War Elephants’ six matches.

Having scored in the group stage draw against Malaysia and then breaking the deadlock in the semi-final win over Vietnam, the then 23-year-old saved his most important contribution for the final – a rematch against the Malaysians in Singapore.

In the ninth minute, Zico received the ball 40 yards from goal, burst forward and created space for the shot before unleashing an unstoppable drive from outside the area that flew into the back of the net.

It proved the only goal of the match as Zico wrote a new chapter in Thailand’s history with a fabulous moment of brilliance that saw his country crowned the inaugural champions. 

Worrawoot stuns Indonesia

After failing to defend their title in 1998, Thailand returned in 2000 with the aim of regaining their regional crown, and they breezed through their group before easing past Malaysia in the semi-finals.

While Zico had again been key on the road to the final, scoring in all four games, the main event turned out to be a one-man show as Worrawoot Srimaka wrote his name into Thailand’s footballing folklore.

Up against Indonesia at Bangkok’s Rajamangala Stadium, Worrawoot rose highest to head home the opener inside 15 minutes before his crisp volley put the hosts two up soon after. The Garuda pulled one back but a third header, in the 32nd minute, completed a quickfire hat-trick.

The War Elephants went on to win 4-1 and claim their second title, with Worrawoot picking up the Golden Boot. He remains the only player to have scored a hat-trick in the final and sits joint third in the competition’s all-time scoring charts.  

Chanathip: From prodigy to icon

A 19-year-old Chanathip Songkrasin had been part of Thailand’s squad in 2012, but it was in the 2014 edition when he truly made his mark as his MVP performance ensured his country ended their 12-year wait for title number four.

With Thailand a goal up in the first leg of the final against Malaysia at Rajamangala, Chanathip burst into the box and squared for Kroekrit Thaweekarn to tap into an empty net with five minutes to play as the War Elephants travelled to the return meeting in Kuala Lumpur with a two-goal lead.

Incredibly, however, Thailand fell three behind and were in danger of a fourth final defeat in five editions before ‘Messi Jay’ took centre stage. With eight minutes to play, his free-kick was only parried out, allowing Charyl Chappuis the chance to finish and put the Thais back in the ascendency.

Chanathip then secured the AFF Championship with 86 minutes on the clock when, after receiving a pass from Adisak Kraisorn, he took one touch and rifled home a left-footed effort from 20 yards to stun the capacity crowd at Bukit Jalil National Stadium and win the title.

Siroch seals turnaround

Having started on the bench in both legs of the 2016 semi-final against Myanmar and then again in the first leg of the final against Indonesia – a 2-1 loss – Siroch Chatthong was perhaps an unlikely hero ahead of the return meeting at Rajamangala.

But head coach Kiatisuk named him in the starting XI and he delivered the goods in emphatic style, choosing the main event to produce what remains by far and away his greatest performance for his country.

Seven minutes before the interval, the big striker somewhat fortuitously bundled home Theerathon Bunmathan’s cross from the left to draw the sides level on aggregate, but there was nothing lucky about his match-winning strike shortly after the interval.

Finding space for himself in the left side of the penalty area, Siroch received a pass from Chanathip, took two touches and coolly curled into the far corner with a strike worthy of winning the competition as Thailand wrapped up a record fifth title.

Hot-shot Teerasil breaks scoring record

Teerasil Dangda has been scoring goals for Thailand since 2007, finishing joint top scorer in the 2008 AFF Championship before winning the Golden Boot outright in both 2012 and 2016 to take his tournament tally to 15 ahead of the 2020 edition.

Going into the competition in joint second in the all-time scoring charts alongside fellow Thai striker Worrawoot and Vietnam’s Le Cong Vinh, Teerasil had Singapore’s Noh Alam Shah – out in front on 17 goals – in his sights.

And he didn’t take long to equal the Singaporean, with a lovely strike from distance and a penalty in the 4-0 group stage win over Myanmar drawing him level. Three days later against the Philippines, he set a new record, dispatching a Theerathon cross with aplomb to move out in front on 18.

Goal number 19 arrived with a second-half penalty that sealed a 2-1 win as Teerasil, who finished as joint top scorer yet again, moved well clear in the scoring charts with a record that is likely to stand for many years.

Win a Thailand jersey signed by the Legends!

We are giving out 5 signed jerseys to 5 lucky winners. Cast your vote above and create an account with us in order to be eligible to win one of the signed jerseys. The 5 lucky winners will be contacted through email on the 23rd of September (5pm Bangkok Time). Winners will be asked to claim their prize at the Bangkok Trophy Tour location on 24 September from 2pm - 6pm.

Eligibility: Contest only available for fans in Bangkok.

Bangkok Trophy Tour address: Zpotlight (G floor) at Zpell (เลขที่ 94 ศูนย์การค้าฟิวเจอร์พาร์ครังสิต ถนน พหลโยธิน Amphoe Thanyaburi, Chang Wat Pathum Thani 12130, Thailand)

Good luck to all contestants!