A number of top-class goalkeepers have represented ASEAN teams over the years since the AFF Suzuki Cup was launched in 1996. We’ve selected five of the best for you to vote for your favourite.

1. Kawin Thamsatchanan (Thailand)

AFF Suzuki Cup Champion – 2014, 2016

Kawin Thamsatchanan made his AFF Suzuki Cup debut as a 22-year-old in 2012 when Thailand finished runners-up to Singapore and the goalkeeper was named in the tournament’s Best XI.

Two years later and Kawin was to claim glory at the second attempt, keeping four clean sheets in a row between the last group stage game and the first leg of the final as Thailand overcame Malaysia to lift the title for the fourth time.

By 2016, Kawin was already among the senior players in Thailand’s side and the personable custodian added his second Suzuki Cup, conceding just four goals in seven games as the War Elephants won a record fifth regional championship.

2. Kurnia Meiga (Indonesia)

AFF Suzuki Cup Runner-up – 2010, 2016

Kurnia Meiga was part of the Indonesia squad that finished as runners-up in the 2010 AFF Suzuki Cup but it wasn’t until a few years later that he established himself as his country’s Number 1 goalkeeper.

After also appearing at the 2014 edition, Meiga was at his best in 2016 when Indonesia progressed to their first final in six years as a number of hard-fought results set up a clash with defending champions Thailand.

Going into the second leg of the final with a 2-1 lead, Meiga produced a number of fine saves – including denying Teerasil Dangda from the spot – although Indonesia just missed out on their maiden Suzuki Cup title following a 2-0 defeat.

3. Khairul Fahmi (Malaysia)

AFF Suzuki Cup Champion – 2010

Malaysia’s Number 1 Khairul Fahmi has held the position between the sticks since 2010, the year he burst onto the international scene as a 21-year-old.

After the Malayan Tigers struggled through the group stage, Fahmi kept three clean sheets in four knockout stage matches as Malaysia defeated Indonesia 4-2 on aggregate in the final to wrap up their first and, to date, only Suzuki Cup.

The agile shot-stopper’s best performance since his 2010 debut was four years ago in 2014 when Malaysia almost reclaimed the regional title, only to be edged out by two late goals by Thailand in the final.

Fahmi recently ended his long association with Kelantan to team up with Melaka United.

4. Duong Hong Son (Vietnam)

AFF Suzuki Cup Champion – 2008

One of only two goalkeepers to win the AFF Suzuki Cup’s Most Valuable Player award, Duong Hong Son made two appearances on his tournament debut as Vietnam reached the semi-finals in 2007, but it was a year later that he really shone.

Installed as coach Henrique Calisto’s first-choice ‘keeper, Hong Son produced a number of excellent displays – twice shutting out Singapore in the 1-0 aggregate win in the semi-finals – as a place in the final was confirmed.

A string of superb saves in the first leg of the final kept hosts Thailand largely at bay in a 2-1 win in Bangkok, before a 1-1 draw in Hanoi saw Vietnam crowned champions for the first time and Hong Son named MVP.

5. Lionel Lewis (Singapore)

AFF Suzuki Cup Champion – 2004, 2007

The first goalkeeper to be named the AFF Suzuki Cup’s Most Valuable Player came four years earlier when Singapore’s Lionel Lewis delivered the goods between the sticks as the Lions won the title for the second time.

Just 21 at the start of the tournament, Lewis performed beyond his years as Singapore remained unbeaten in all eight games to be crowned champions following a 5-2 aggregate victory over Indonesia in the final.

Lewis returned in 2007 to again and this time saved the decisive penalty from Malaysia’s Khyril Zambri in the second leg of the semi-final as Singapore advanced by the narrowest of margins, before seeing off Thailand 3-2 on aggregate in the final as Lewis won a second successive regional title.