It’s been the topic of debate for years right across Southeast Asia: which is the greatest goal scored in the AFF Championship’s long and storied history? Will the 2022 AFF Mitsubishi Electric Cup provide more highlight reel strikes?

Every fan has an opinion and now you can have your say.

Over the next couple of weeks, we will be rolling out a tournament-style challenge so that fans can vote for the greatest goal in the history of the AFF Championship.

That starts today with four match-ups where eight great goals go head-to-head with the four most popular then progressing through to the next round.

Have your say today and help your favourite goal reach the next round!

1. Chanathip Songkrasin (2014) v Phithack Kongmathilah (2018)

Thai maestro Chanathip Songkrasin sealed the 2014 AFF Championship title in emphatic fashion with this stunning left-foot strike to stun the home support at Bukit Jalil National Stadium to end his country's 12-year trophy drought.


While Phithack Kongmathilah's dipping, swerving, free-kick from range to put Laos in front against Malaysia at the same venue may have ultimately not been as significant, it's well worthy of its place in any 

2. Safee Sali (2010) v Manny Ott (2014)

It was the goal that killed off any hope of an Indonesian comeback in the 2010 AFF Championship final as Sefee Sali thumped home an unstoppable left-footed effort to silence Gelora Bung Karno Stadium and put his side four up on aggregate in their first title-winning campaign.

The Philippines stunned Indonesia with a 4-0 group stage win in Hanoi on route to the semi-finals in 2014 with Manny Ott scoring the pick of the bunch, rifling in a piledriver from 20 yards to give the 'keeper no chance.


3. Le Cong Vinh (2008) v Ikhsan Fandi (2018)

Vietnamese legend Le Cong Vinh’s fine, glancing, header in stoppage time of the 2008 final against Thailand secured a historic first-ever AFF Championship title for the Golden Star Warriors and what a header it was!

A decade on and Singapore's bright young star Ikhsan Fandi announced his arrival at the tournament in style, with an acrobatic overhead kick against Timor-Leste offering a glimpse of his potential.


4. Syahmi Safari (2018) v Kiatisuk Senamuang (1996)

Syahmi Safari's laser into the far corner gave Malaysia a crucial away goal against Thailand at Rajamangala in 2018 before the subsequent 2-2 draw saw the Harimau Malaya advance to the final.

Thailand legend Kiatisuk’s outstanding touch and thumping finish against Malaysia in 1996 sealed glory for Thailand as the War Elephants won the first-ever AFF Championship title. 

Polls will end on November 29 at 18:00 SGT